Photo: Photo courtesy of OPW
✔Log in to create a list
Saturday 13 October, 11.00am – 5.00pm
The Four Courts has been at the epicentre of Irish law since it first opened its doors in 1796. Designed by Thomas Cooley and James Gandon, it housed the country’s legal system under one roof for the first time. With its iconic granite and Portland stone drum, it is one of the most recognisable structures in the country. At its heart is the magnificent Round Hall, with inner and outer domes and a surround of Corinthian columns.The building suffered extensive damage during the civil war, and subsequently underwent major restoration work under the direction of the Office of Public Works. It was reopened in 1932 with a reconstructed reinforced concrete dome, one of the first of its kind in Ireland.