The iconic Dublin City Fruit and Vegetable Wholesale Markets were designed in 1884 by Parke Neville (d.1886), completed with modifications after his death in 1892 by Spencer Harty, his successor as City Engineer. The Markets were opened on the 6th December 1892 by the Right Honourable Joseph M. Meade, Lord Mayor. The building occupied the whole block or former trade premises between Boot Lane (renamed St. Michan’s Street), Mary’s Lane, Arran Street East and Chancery Street (formerly Pill Lane). The level of decorative detail is typical of Victorian public architecture. The granite work around the doorways is by Charles Harrison and its decorative work includes representations of the products sold. The market closed for redevelopment on August 23rd 2019 after 127 years of trading.