Museum Building

Deane, Woodward & Deane , 1857 /
Trinity College, 1 Grafton St, College Green, Dublin 2
Saturday, 10am—12pm
Photo: Photographer: Patrick Wyse-Jackson

The Museum Building, has been described as the finest Victorian building in Dublin. Designed by Sir Thomas Deane, Benjamin Woodward and Thomas Newenhamn Deane it originally housed two museums and several lecture theatres. The exterior is constructed of Leinster Granite from Ballyknockan, Co. Wicklow with Portland Limestone used around windows, balconies, and for stringcourses. The polychromatic hallway in this iconic building contains a range of beautiful decorative stone from Ireland and abroad, while both the interior and exterior are decorated with exquisite naturalistic carvings of Irish plants and animals executed by the O’Shea Brothers and their nephew Edward Whelan.This Central hallway will be available for guided tours

First Come Basis

Just show up and look out for Open House Dublin Volunteers.


  • Suitable for Children

More OHD Nearby

The Douglas Hyde Gallery

Paul Koralek, 1978