Killiney Obelisk

John Mapas , 1742 /
Killiney Hill Cnoc Chill Iníon Léinín Scalpwilliam Dublin
Saturday, 11am—5pm

The Killiney Obelisk is one of the most prominent and best loved structures in Co Dublin. Built in 1742 on the crown of Killiney Hill by John Mapas, it was completely restored in 2008 by Howley Hayes. The Obelisk provides a dominant landmark from land and sea. It also marks one of the most stunning panoramic views in Ireland, with Killiney Bay and the Wicklow Mountains to the South, Dalkey Hill and Island to the North, the Irish Sea to the East and Dublin to the West. The Obelisk was erected to commemorate the ‘Forgotten Famine’ of 1740/41. Caused by bitterly cold winters and flooding, livestock and crops were largely destroyed across Ireland. Designed by: John Mapas/Restoration by Howley Hayes Architects.

First Come Basis

Just show up and look out for Open House Dublin Volunteers.

Notes

  • Photography is not permitted on this tour

More OHD Nearby