Guinness Storehouse - Open House Dublin 2022
Building Tour

Guinness Storehouse

RKD
Saint Catherine's, Dublin 8
11am – 12.30pm
Book Now
An external view of the seven story building with the 360 degree, skyline bar situated at the top

The building in which the Storehouse is located was constructed in 1902 as a fermentation plant for the St. James’s Gate Brewery (yeast is added to the brew). It was designed in the style of the Chicago School of Architecture and was the first multi-storey steel-framed building to be constructed in Ireland. The building was used continuously as the fermentation plant of the Brewery until its closure in 1988, when a new fermentation plant was completed near the River Liffey.

In 1997, it was decided to convert the building into the Guinness Storehouse, replacing the Guinness Hop Store as the Brewery’s visitor centre. The redesign of the building was undertaken by the UK-based design firm Imagination in conjunction with the Dublin-based architects firm RKD, and the Storehouse opened to the public on 2 December 2000.

This tour will encompass a guided tour of Guinness Storehouse accompanied by an architect from RKD.


Accessibility Information

The Guinness Storehouse building has wheelchair friendly ramps and/or lifts which allow visits to access to all aspects of the experience. The entrance for groups, wheelchairs and pushchairs to Guinness Storehouse is located on Market St.

Flickering or flashing lights are in use through The Guinness Storehouse which may be harmful to individuals with photosensitive epilepsy. The Guinness Storehouse does not contain any strobe lighting.

Wheelchair accessible, Accessible Toilets, Assistance Dogs welcome, Easy Read information, Audio guide


Photography Credit
© Unknown

Share


Similar

Newsletter

Want to stay informed? Sign up for the IAF newsletter