Freemasons’ Hall, Dublin was built between 1866 and 1869 by Michael Meade of Great Brunswick Street to the design of Edward Holmes of Birmingham and London.
The façade on Molesworth Street is of Ancaster limestone with imposed Doric, Ionic and Corinthian orders, further adorned in its pediment with the masons’ square and compass and all-seeing eye. The interior boasts a tiled entrance hall, typical of the Victoria era, with stained glass windows by Joshua Clarke and esoterically fashioned meeting rooms, among them the classically styled Grand Lodge Room and the Royal Arch Room with its Egyptian theme. There is also a museum open to visitors interested in learning more about Freemasonry.
Tours at 11am and 3pm
- There are 11 steps up to the front door but there is wheelchair access through No. 19 Molesworth Street with a chair lift from there to the main hallway level.
- There is an internal passenger lift supplemented by a ramp for access to the 1st and 2nd floors.
- Accessible bathroom available.
- Car parks at School House Lane and Setanta Place.
- Luas Green Line is close by on Dawson Street.
- Buses that serve Dawson Street, Kildare Street and Nassau Street are minutes away.
- Pearse Street Train Station is a 10 minute walk away.
- Wheelchair Accessible.