Photo: Courtesy of Dublin City Council
Pigeon House Power Station
✔Log in to create a list
Saturday 13 October, 11.00am – 3.00pm
The vast ruin of the former Pigeon House power station is the one of the most striking industrial architecture complexes in the city and is now one of the largest protected structures in Ireland. Built in three main phases (1902/3, 1911-1913 and 1933-40; decommissioned in the 1970s), the power station was constructed of red brick and steel, and later of reinforced concrete. These layers of exposed fabric show how the building was constantly modified to keep up with increasing electricity demand. Today, only one of the 12 chimneys remain and the ruins of the power station resemble the atmospheric drawings of classical ruins by the 18th Century Italian artist Giovanni Battista Piranesi. As the city continues to expand eastwards along the Poolbeg Peninsula, it is envisioned that the building will be regenerated to enable future users and visitors to understand and enjoy this fascinating historic place while offering opportunities for culture and employment.
First-come basis: Just turn up and look out for Open House Dublin volunteers. Please Note: This is an external tour around the building with no access permitted inside the buildings. All visitors must sign an indemnity letter to be provided by DCC on the day. All visitors must wear a high-vis vest (provided by DCC) and sensible shoes. In the event of a storm, the tours will not take place due to the risk of falling debris. There is no car parking available on the site. Public parking is available on the nearby Shelly Banks Road. Children under 18 will not be permitted on this tour. Wheelchair accessible. This tour is not suitable for children.
Designed by: Dublin Corporation
Building Date: 1902-1903
Location: Pigeon House Hotel, House Road, Ringsend, Dublin 4