Photo: Barry McCaul
Bewley’s Grafton Street
✔Log in to create a list
Saturday 13 October, 11.00am – 5.00pm
Sunday 14 October, 12.00pm – 5.00pm
The Bewley’s building on Grafton Street dates from c1870s. The upper most floors are detailed in the loose Italianate/renaissance style, popular at that time. The building underwent significant works in the 1920s with the addition of the now iconic Art Deco neo-Egyptian style facade by architect A.G.C. Millar. The Harry Clarke windows were then inserted as part of a remodelling carried out 1928.Since the 1920s there have been more significant alterations and modifications to the fabric and layout of the building by McDonnell & Dixon Architects in 1946, Horan Cotter Architects in 1987, Paul Brazil Architects in 1994/5, John Duffy Design Group in 1997/8 and Pierce Tynan Architects in 2005.Most recently, Bewley’s closed in 2015 for over 1,000 days, reopening again after an extensive refurbishment in 2017. The tour will take visitors through the basement including the 24hour bakery and up to the ground floor and first floor. You are hereby invited to learn what happened over 1,000 days….
First-come basis: Just turn up and look out for Open House Dublin volunteers.
Tours every hour. Wheelchair accessible.
Designed by: Paul Arnold (2017), de Blacam and Meagher & Moloney O'Beirne (2015), John Duffy Architects (1998), Henry J Lyons (1925)
Building Date: 1925
Location: 78-79 Grafton St, Dublin 2